Rugby Union Regional/County – Wales

The regional structure presently in operation in Wales (2017) is a recent thing with the current 5 team structure being in operation since the 2003/2004 season.

These teams currently compete in the Celtic League and European cup competitions

Region name Owners
Llanelli Scarlets Llanelli RFC
Neath-Swansea Ospreys Neath RFC and Swansea RFC
Celtic Warriors Bridgend RFC and Pontypridd RFC
Cardiff Blues Cardiff RFC
Gwent Dragons Ebbw Vale RFC and Newport RFC

I am including on this page,  caps of the owner teams, that were awarded before the current structure was put in place.

Cardiff City Cap 1924-25. Currently in the possession of the WRU at the Principality Stadium

Cardiff City Cap 1932-33. Awarded to J. Milburn. Currently in the possession of the WRU at the Principality Stadium

Two Villa Cardiff caps from the Cardiff Athletic Second team known as the RAGS. The 1925-1926 cap is features courtesy of the WRU, The 1926-1927 cap is owned by myself (ER)

Two Caps awarded to Tom Dobson. Cardiff Cap 1893 to 1898 and a Glamorgan Cap 1897 to 1898.  He played 122 games for the club between 1893/94 and 1898/99,scoring 11 tries. Tom gained four Welsh caps, making his debut against England in 1898. A Tom Dobson Wales Cap is featured on the Wales – National Team page (RR)

Below are a selection of varying types of Cardiff Rugby Caps in the Cardiff Rugby museum online archive.

Swansea Rugby Football Club Caps currently residing in in the Swansea RFC Archives